• contact @ aict-iatc.org
  • English
  • Français

The 2020 Thalia Prize: Tadashi Suzuki

The International Association of Theatre Critics (IATC) will present the 2020 Thalia Prize to Tadashi Suzuki of Japan “to honour his lifetime of work as the creator and developer of the Suzuki Method for actors, as presented in a series of workshops around the world. The IATC also honours his theatre writings, especially of Culture Is the Body and On the Dramatic Passions. In addition, we take note of Tadashi Suzuki’s work with the Theatre Olympics, in collaboration with avant-garde artists and personalities in the performing arts.”
The International Association of Theatre Critics created the Thalia Prize in 2006 to “honour an artist and writer from the performing arts, who, in his or her work, practice, and writing, has had a significant impact on the work of theatre critics.” This prize is symbolized by a trophy, a beautifully carved walking stick of Thalia, which is given to the honouree. Our list of laureates so far includes: Eric Bentley (USA), Jean-Pierre Sarrazac (France), Richard Schechner (USA), Kapila Vatsyayan (India), Eugenio Barba (Denmark), Femi O’Sofisan (Nigeria), and Hans-Thies Lehmann (Germany). All of our honourees have inspired critics to discover a wide range of new cultural horizons.
The Thalia Prize of the IATC is presented to the honouree during the World Congress of the association, which occurs on a biennial basis in different cities around the globe. In 2020, the prize will be presented in Bratislava, Slovakia. There are plans underway to include a presentation of Suzuki’s work, as well as a conversation with the great artist.